What is ETIAS Italy?

ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System and it is a program to be implemented by the European Union in the end of the year 2022. ETIAS Italy will be a travel authorization for citizens of eligible countries who wish to visit Italy or any of the countries in the Schengen Zone.

At this time, citizens of 62 countries are exempt from obtaining a visa to travel to Italy. When the systems is launched, citizens of these visa exempt countries will be required to complete the ETIAS Italy online application to get their travel authorization approved. The EU is working on developing the ETIAS system for its implementation in late 2022.

ETIAS for Italy will be an automated IT system created to identify individuals that may pose a threat to the Schengen Area. ETIAS will be a travel authorization that will screen travelers before they can travel to the region.

europe etias for italy
During president Jean-Claude Juncker’s State of the Union Address in 2016 he emphasized the need for an automated system that would help determine who should be allowed to enter Europe.

The EU’s security is a priority and the ETIAS system will be a key tool in making the Schengen Area safer. The European Parliament voted in favour of the ETIAS system in July 2018. The regulations for the establishment of ETIAS entered into force on October 9th, 2019. The eu-LISA, a large IT management agency, will be in charge of the implementation of the system.

Who needs ETIAS Italy?

europe etias for italy
The ETIAS for Italy will be a mandatory requirement for travelers from visa-free countries who wish to visit Italy or any of the Schengen member countries. To obtain the ETIAS visa waiver, travelers will need to complete an ETIAS online form with their passport details and personal information.

Those who need an ETIAS visa waiver are citizens from one of the current 62 visa exempt countries. Citizens of several countries without exemption agreements must apply for a Schengen Visa through an embassy or consulate. In contrast, the ETIAS visa waiver for Italy will be available through an online application that can be easily completed from the comfort of a home or office. To be able to travel to Europe in the of the year 2022, eligible travelers will be expected to complete their ETIAS application before traveling to the Schengen Area.

The system will gather a traveler’s data and will contrast the information provided against several security databases including the EURODAC, VIS, and Interpol. Once the information has been revised, a traveler will receive a notification of the status of their application. If an application triggers an alarm, it will be revised manually by the respective team. In the case that an ETIAS application is denied, the traveler has the right to appeal and provide additional documentation according to the ETIAS team in charge of their case.

While right now citizens of 62 countries can travel to the Schengen Area without a visa, the EU is concerned with the region’s security and ETIAS will be a necessary requirement to enter Italy or any of the member countries of the Schengen Zone.

There are currently a number of countries who can travel to Italy and the Schengen Area for up to 90 days without a visa. These are:

Travel to Italy with an ETIAS Authorization

travel information about Italy

The EU expects to launch the ETIAS system in late 2022 and travelers who wish to visit the country as of this year will need to obtain an ETIAS authorization. To travel to Italy with the ETIAS visa waiver, a foreign visitor will need to meet the ETIAS Italy requirements and have:

  • a valid passport
  • a debit or credit card
  • a valid email address

Travel to Italy with the ETIAS visa waiver will not change. The only difference is that eligible citizens will need to complete their ETIAS application prior to their trip. In order to complete ETIAS, the applicant will need to provide their personal details, passport information, travel plans as well as answer health and security questions.

Application Form

Travel Information about Italy

Set in the heart of the Mediterranean sea, Italy covers an area of 301,340 km2 and is home to around 61 million people. Italy welcomes millions of foreign visitors a year and it is one of the most popular travel destinations in Europe.

Travel to Italy with the ETIAS visa waiver will be simple and quick. Eligible travelers will be able to complete the online ETIAS form within minutes. Most applications are expected to be processed shortly after being submitted. The automated ETIAS system will scan data and screen travelers to identify individuals that may pose a threat to the region. For instance, the ETIAS system will be able to identify if a person has committed fraud or if they have a criminal record.

Applicants simply need to have a valid passport from a visa exempt country, a debit card and a current email address. It is important that a traveler provides accurate information and that details in the ETIAS application match those of their passport.

etias world map

ETIAS is not a visa, and it cannot be obtained at an embassy or consulate. ETIAS is an electronic travel authorization that allows its holder to travel to the Schengen Area for stays of up to 90 days within a 180-day period. Italy is a well communicate country with plenty of public transport options. As an Eurozone member country, foreign visitors must have euros to pay for accommodation, food, transport, etc. It is possible to rent a car in Italy as long as the traveler has a drivers license.

By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here, to know more. I agree